探讨电磁干扰

返回技术文献页面

Andy Chou是一名宝德(Boyd)市场部门经理,在EMI解决方案领域拥有超过5年的工作经验。他还领导“新产品引进”团队,负责研发新兴EMI产品和应用。凭借作为全球技术工程师、大客户经理和产品经理的经验,Andy非常热衷于研究电子行业的EMI管理和随之而来的市场趋势。


简介


电磁干扰(EMI)在无线电频率领域还称为无线电频率干扰(RFI),由不良辐射电磁场,或来自外部源的传导电压或电流引起,对电子设备的安全稳定运行造成干扰。这种干扰可能由携带快速变化的电流的任何人造或自然物体造成,例如电路、太阳或北极光。这种扰乱或干扰可能中断、阻碍、限制或降低有效的电子设备性能。从只是降低性能到数据全部损失,或最糟情况下的设备故障,都在这些影响范围内。

为避免出现这些可能的性能问题,电子设备设计通常加入好几种材料,从而在EMI存在下提高稳定性能。

图1演示了这种设计的屏蔽罩和接地垫圈的具体安装。

EMI来源

电磁干扰可能有多种不同来源并以多种不同方式分类。EMI可能有天然或人工来源,可以通过持续时间分类,如连续干扰或脉冲“噪音”(噪音意指干扰),或通过带宽分类(窄频带或宽频带)。EMI如何出现?通常,EMI因以下模型中的一种所造成的耦合机制(路径)引起。耦合的一般理论如图2所示。

电流效应引起的-传导:传导噪声在两个或更多个部件之间通过互连线(如电源或地线)耦合。当来自两个或更多个电路的电流流过同一部件或电路时,引起常见阻抗耦合。大多数设备之间的传导耦合通过交流电源线进行。

-电磁效应引起的辐射:在近场情况下,分别设计E(电)场和H(磁)场耦合(主要针对电场问题)。在远场情况下,将耦合处理为平面波(主要针对辐射电磁场问题)。

-电场或磁场效应引起的感应
--电感耦合:磁场耦合由导体中的电流引起。耦合机制可以通过变压器建模。

--电容耦合:电场耦合通过导体之间的电压差引起。耦合机制可以通过电容器建模。

下载技术论文 查看EMI解决方案

Discussion of Electromagnetic Interference

Back to the technical papers page

Andy Chou is a Boyd Market Segment Manager with more than five years of experience working in the area of EMI solutions. He also leads Boyd’s New Product Introduction team in developing new and emerging EMI products and applications. With experience as a global technical engineer, key account manager and product manager, Andy is fervently attuned to the management of EMI in the electronic industry and attendant market trends.


Introduction


Electromagnetic interference (EMI) also known as radio frequency interference (RFI) when in radio frequency, is caused by undesirable radiated electromagnetic fields, or conducted voltages or current from an external source, which interferes with the safe and stable operations of an electronic device. This interference can come from any artificial or natural object that carries rapidly changing electrical currents, like an electrical circuit, the sun or the Northern Lights. This disturbance or interference may interrupt, obstruct, limit or degrade effective electronic device performance. These effects can range from simple performance degradation to a total loss of data or, at worst, device failure.

To avoid these potential performance issues, electronic device design commonly incorporates several materials that promote stable performance in the presence of EMI.

An illustration of this design is the specific installation of a shielding enclosure and grounding gaskets shown in Figure 1.

Origin of EMI

Electromagnetic interference can come from a number of different sources and be categorized in a number of different ways. EMI sources can be natural or man-made. They can be categorized by duration like continuous interference or impulse “noise” (noise meaning interference), or categorized by bandwidth (narrow or broad band). How does EMI happen? Normally EMI occurs from a coupling mechanism (or path) caused by one of the following models. The general theory of coupling is shown in Figure 2.

- Conduction by electric current effect: Conducted noise is coupled between two or more components through interconnecting wires like a power supply or ground wires. Common impedance coupling is caused when currents from two or more circuits flow through the same component or circuit. Most conducted coupling between pieces of equipment occurs through AC power lines.

- Radiation by electromagnetic effect: In the near field condition, E field (electric) and H field (magnetic) coupling are diagnosed separately (mainly for electric field issues). In the far field condition, coupling is treated as a plane wave (mainly for radiated electromagnetic field issues).

- Induction by electric field or magnetic field effect:
-- Inductive Coupling: Magnetic field coupling is caused by current flow in conductors. The coupling mechanism may be modeled by a transformer.

-- Capacitive Coupling: Electric field coupling is caused by a voltage difference between conductors. The coupling mechanism may be modeled by a capacitor.

Download Technical Paper View EMI Solutions